Inaugural iHeartRadio Music Awards kicks off Thursday night

(KSDK) – The votes have been counted, and tonight, the inaugural iHeartRadio Music Awards gets underway.

The biggest names in music are up for awards as well as performing during the show.

Rihanna leads the pack with seven nominations, including two in the same category. Rockers Imagine Dragons have four nominations, including Artist of the Year and Best New Artist. (Check out the full list of nominees below.)

Plus, the show wouldn't be complete without some of the talent hitting the stage, which includes Drake, Blake Shelton, Pharrell, Arcade Fire and Thirty Seconds to Mars.

To make the show a bit more special, the world premiere of Michael Jackson's "Love Never Felt So Good" will happen during the show. Michael Jackson will drop a new album, Xscape, May 13.

The show kicks off at 7 p.m. on NewsChannel 5.

Follow the live interaction of the show by following along on Twitter @iHeartRadio and #iHeartAwards.

Artist of the Year:

Imagine Dragons

Justin Timberlake

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Maroon 5


Song of the Year:

"Hold On We're Going Home" – Drake ft. Majid Jordan

"Mirrors" – Justin Timberlake

"Radioactive" – Imagine Dragons

"Stay" – Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko

"The Monster" – Eminem ft. Rihanna

Best Collaboration:

"Holy Grail" – JAY Z ft. Justin Timberlake

"Stay" – Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko

"Suit & Tie" – Justin Timberlake ft. JAY Z

"The Monster" – Eminem ft. Rihanna

"Timber" – Pitbull ft. Kesha

Best New Artist:

Florida Georgia Line

Icona Pop

Imagine Dragons


Macklemore & Ryan Lewis


Country Song of the Year:

"Boys 'Round Here" – Blake Shelton

"Highway Don't Care" – Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift

"It Goes Like This" – Thomas Rhett

"Mine Would Be You" – Blake Shelton

"That's My Kind of Night" – Luke Bryan

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year:

"Blurred Lines" – Robin Thicke ft. T.I. & Pharrell

"Hold On We're Going Home" – Drake ft. Majid Jordan

"Holy Grail" – JAY Z ft. Justin Timberlake

"Pour It Up" – Rihanna

"Started From The Bottom" – Drake

EDM Song of the Year:

"Get Lucky" – Daft Punk ft. Pharrell

"Stay The Night" – Zedd ft. Hayley Williams

"Summertime Sadness" – Lana Del Rey ft. Cedric Gervais

"Sweet Nothing" – Calvin Harris ft. Florence Welch

"Wake Me Up" – Avicii

Alternative Rock Song of the Year:

"Demons" – Imagine Dragons

"Do I Wanna Know?" – Arctic Monkeys

"Pompeii" – Bastille

"Royals" – Lorde

"Safe And Sound" – Capital Cities

Best Lyrics:

"Wake Me Up" – Avicii (Vocals by Aloe Blacc)

"I Love It (ft. Charli XCX)" – Icona Pop

"Say Something" – A Great Big World

"Same Love" – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

"Wrecking Ball" – Miley Cyrus

Best Fan Army:

Arianators – Ariana Grande

Little Monsters – Lady Gaga

Lovatics – Demi Lovato

Mahomies – Austin Mahone

Rihanna Navy – Rihanna

Swifties – Taylor Swift

iHeartRadio Instagram Award

#iHeartRihanna – Rihanna

#iHeartHarry – Harry Styles

#iHeartSelena – Selena Gomez

#iHeartMahone – Austin Mahone

#iHeartAriana – Ariana Grande


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment