2010 Big Sky All-Conference teams announced

1:15 PM, Nov 23, 2010   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Ogden, UT (Sports Network) - Montana State and Eastern Washington shared the Big Sky regular-season football title, so it was only fitting that a Bobcat and Eagle shared the 2010 Offensive Player of the Year award.

Eastern Washington junior running back Taiwan Jones and Montana State freshman quarterback Denarius McGhee were named Co-Offensive Players of the Year, and both were named to the All-Conference First Team.

Eastern Washington senior linebacker J.C. Sherritt captured Defensive Player of the Year, while McGhee was also honored as the Newcomer of the Year.

Jones, a 6-foot-1, 200-pounder from Antioch, Calif., was a unanimous All- Conference selection, and was named to the first team for the second straight season. The Walter Payton Award candidate finished the regular season with 1,344 rushing yards and 11 touchdowns. He averaged 7.6 yards per carry and 134.4 yards per game, which ranks fourth in the nation. Jones ranks second in the nation in all-purpose yards at 195.1 yards per game. He is the first running back to claim Offensive Player of the Year honors since EWU's Jesse Chatman in 2001.

McGhee, a 5-11, 203-pound redshirt freshman from Euless, Texas, is the first freshman named Offensive Player of the Year since Northern Arizona's Jason Murrietta in 2003. McGhee, also a Walter Payton Award candidate, completed 63.3 percent of his passes for 2,940 yards with 22 touchdowns and just five interceptions. McGhee's quarterback efficiency rating of 156.8 leads the Big Sky and ranks third in the nation. McGhee ranks ninth in the nation in total offense at 283.3 yards per game. McGhee is just the second Bobcat to win Offensive Player of the Year. Quarterback Kelly Bradley claimed the honor in 1984, the last time the Bobcats won the national championship. McGhee is the first athlete since Eastern Washington quarterback Josh Blankenship in 2002 to win Offensive MVP and Newcomer of the Year in the same season.

Sherritt, a 5-foot-10, 220-pound senior from Pullman, Wash., finished second in the Big Sky with 125 total tackles. The Buck Buchanan Award runner-up from a year ago also had 10 tackles for loss, 2.5 sacks, seven pass breakups, three interceptions, two forced fumbles and a fumble recovery. For the second straight season, Sherritt was a unanimous selection to the All-Conference team. Sherritt is a Buchanan Award candidate this season, and is looking to become the second Eagle in three years to claim the honor. Defensive end Greg Peach won the 2008 Buchanan.

The All-Conference First Team consisted of seven repeat selections from 2009, and seven unanimous selections. Eastern Washington led the way with seven First-Team selections. Weber State has five players named to the First Team, while Montana State had four. All nine Big Sky teams had at least one player selected to the top squad.

FIRST TEAM OFFENSE: WR - Brandon Kaufman, So., Eastern Washington; WR - Jace Davis, So., Northern Colorado; WR - Joe Collins, Sr., Weber State; OT - Mike Person, Sr., Montana State; OT - Caleb Turner, Jr., Weber State; OG - Kris Poindexter, Sr., Northern Arizona; OG - J.C. Oram, Jr., Weber State; C - Chris Powers, Jr., Eastern Washington; TE - Julius Thomas, Sr., Portland State; QB - Denarius McGhee, Fr., Montana State; RB - Taiwan Jones, Jr., Eastern Washington; RB - Cory McCaffrey, Jr., Portland State; FB - Vai Tafuna, Sr., Weber State.

FIRST TEAM DEFENSE: DT - Dan Ogden, Sr., Montana State; DT - Renard Williams, Jr., Eastern Washington; DE - Isaac Bond, Jr., Northern Arizona; DE - Zack Nash, Jr., Sacramento State; LB - J.C. Sherritt, Sr., Eastern Washington; LB - Nick Webb, Jr., Weber State; LB - A.J. Storms, Jr., Idaho State; LB - Reid Worthington, Sr., Northern Arizona; LB - John Eddy, Sr., Northern Colorado; CB - Trumaine Johnson, Jr., Montana; CB - Korey Askew, Sr., Northern Colorado; S - Erik Stoll, Sr., Montana; S - Matt Johnson, Jr., Eastern Washington; P - David Harrington, Jr., Idaho State.

FIRST TEAM SPECIAL TEAMS: PK - Jason Cunningham, Jr., Montana State; RS - Tavoy Moore, Jr., Idaho State; ST - Darriell Beaumonte, Jr., Eastern Washington.

(Courtesy of Big Sky Media Relations)

The Sports Network

Most Watched Videos