Missouri drought: All counties declared disaster areas

4:57 PM, Jul 17, 2012   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

Jefferson City, Mo (KSDK) -- The Missouri drought conditions have led the U.S. Department of Agriculture secretary to designate all 114 counties as primary natural disaster areas, following a request by Missouri Governor Jay Nixon.

A disaster designation allows eligible farmers to be considered for assistance from the USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA), including FSA emergency loans. 

Producers are advised to should document any losses or additional costs experienced as a result of weather events, including drought. That information is often required for producers to be eligible for physical and/or production loss loan assistance from the FSA, as well as other assistance programs.

All the counties are also eligible for emergency 24-hour approvals of low-interest Missouri Linked Deposit Program loans in response to the drought. The normal loan approval time is 10 days.

Missouri also has a hay directory for livestock producers as well as other information and resources online at MO.gov.


Most Watched Videos