Mayor Francis Slay wins primary; fourth term all but assured

7:27 AM, Mar 6, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

ST. LOUIS (KSDK) - St. Louis Mayor Francis Slay declared victory in the Democratic primary shortly after 10 p.m. Tuesday, all but assuring he will be re-elected for an unprecedented fourth term of the modern political era.

Board of Aldermen President Lewis Reed and former Alderman Jimmy Matthews opposed Slay in the mayoral primary.

The unofficial results show Mayor Slay garnered approximately 54.4 percent of the vote, with Reed pulling 44.3 percent and Smith getting 1.3 percent.  More than 43,000 St. Louisans voted in the primary, a 22 percent turnout.

"So our message of one St. Louis, even though we didn't prevail and we weren't successful in a win tonight, but what we have done is raise the consciousness of this city," Lewis Reed said.

Raymond Tucker was the last St. Louis mayor to seek a fourth consecutive term.  He was defeated by Alfonso Cervantes in 1965.

The Republican Party, which hasn't held the St. Louis mayor's office since 1949, did not hold a primary.  James McNeely ran unopposed for the Green Party's nomination.

The general election is April 2.

William Carr Lane, the City of St. Louis' first mayor, served six one-year terms.

View all the unofficial results on the St. Louis Board of Election Commissioners page.


Most Watched Videos