St. Louis police department merges districts Monday

ST. LOUIS (KSDK) – The City of St. Louis police department will have one of its biggest transitions in 50 years as police districts are consolidated, according to the department.

Starting Monday, the department will shift from nine to six police districts to help better use department resources, according to a department release. Districts 1 and 2 will be housed out of the south patrol at 3157 Sublette, Districts 3 and 4 will operate out of Central Patrol, 919 Jefferson and Districts 5 and 6 will work out of 4014 Union.

According to the district press release, the police department needed nine districts with 2,200 officers when the city's population reached around 750,000. Currently, the city has more than 318,000 residents with 1,250 officers, and it will allow for more officers on the street and greater emphasis on "hot spot policing."

The new boundaries take effect at 4 a.m. Monday.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment