Field for Senior PGA Championship filling out

(KSDK Sports)- The field for the 74th Senior PGA Championship is becoming more clear. Today, PGA of America officials announced today the first wave of player commitments. The event take place May 21-26, 2013, at Bellerive Country Club. This is the first time Bellerive has hosted the Senior PGA Championship, the most historic and prestigious event in senior golf.

Of the 65 players committed to play, 19 participated in the 1992 PGA Championship, which was played at Belleirve: John Cook, T-2; Jim Gallagher Jr. T-2; Russ Cochran, T-7; Dan Forsman, T-7; Jeff Sluman, T-12; Brad Faxon, T-15; Anders Forsbrand, T-9; Josh Huston, T-18; Tom Kite, T-21; Peter Jacobsen, T-28; Joe Ozaki, T-28; Mark James, T-40; Bernhard Langer, T-40; Mark Calcavecchia, T-48; Steve Pate, T-48; Peter Senior, T-48; Andrew Magee, T-56; Hale Irwin, T-66; and David Frost T-73.

Complete list of current commitments to the 74th Senior PGA Championship:

ANDERSON, JC - St. Louis, Missouri (cp)
BAKER, Gregory - Boonton, New Jersey (cp)
BERRY, Don - Brooklyn Park, Minnesota (cp)
BRANNEN, Tommy - Augusta, Georgia (cp)
BROWNE, Olin - Tequesta, Florida
CALCAVECCHIA, Mark - Tequesta, Florida
CARTER, Jim - Scottsdale, Arizona
COCHRAN, Russ - Paducah, Kentucky
COOK, John - Orlando, Florida
COSTON, Jeff - Blaine, Washington (cp)
DACHISEN, Christopher - Warren, New Jersey (cp)
EDWARDS, Joel - Irving, Texas
FAXON, Brad - Barrington, Rhode Island
FORSMAN, Dan - Provo, Utah
FUNK, Fred - Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
GALLAGHER JR., Jim - Greenwood, Mississippi
GILDER, Bob - Corvallis, Oregon
GLASSON, Bill - Stillwater, Oklahoma
GOLDING, Philip - Hertfordshire, ENGLAND
HART, Jeff - Solana Beach, California
HARWOOD, Michael - Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
HUSTON, John - Palm Harbor, Florida
IRWIN, Hale - Paradise Valley, Arizona
JACOBSEN, Peter - Bonita Springs, Florida
JAMES, Mark - Yorkshire, ENGLAND
KITE, Tom - Austin, Texas
LANGER, Bernhard - Munich, GERMANY
MAGEE, Andrew - Paradise Valley, Arizona
MCCUMBER, Mark - Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
MILES, Michael - Huntington Beach, California (cp)
MITCHELL, Mike - Rancho Mirage, California (cp)
OLDCORN, Andrew - Edinburgh, SCOTLAND
O'MEARA, Mark - Houston, Texas
OZAKI, Naomichi (Joe) - Tokyo, JAPAN
PARKER, Steve - Houston, Texas (cp)
PATE, Steve - West Lake Village, California
REID, Mike - Westminster, Maryland
ROBERTS, Loren - Memphis, Tennessee
ROBISON, Gary - Canton, Ohio (cp)
RUSSELL, David J. - East Lothian, ENGLAND
RUTLEDGE, Jim - British Columbia, CANADA
SABO, Ed - Tequesta, Florida (cp)
SALITO, Ralph - Sherman, Connecticut (cp)
SAN FILIPPO, Mike - Hobe Sound, Florida (cp)
SENIOR, Peter - Queensland, AUSTRALIA
SIMPSON, Scott - San Diego, California
SKAYHAN, Ron - Huntington Beach, California (cp)
SLUMAN, Jeff - Hinsdale, Illinois
SMYTH, Des - Co. Louth, IRELAND
STRANGE, Curtis - Morehead City, North Carolina
THELEN, Tim - College Station, Texas
THOMPSON, Robert - Huntsville, Texas (cp)
TRIPLETT, Kirk - Scottsdale, Arizona
TRITTLER, Paul - Cave Creek, Arizona (cp)
WESSELINGH, Paul - Derbyshire, ENGLAND
WILLIAMS, Christopher - Johannesburg, SOUTH AFRICA
WOOD, Willie - Edmond, Oklahoma
WOODWARD, Jim - Edmond, Oklahoma (cp)
WOOSNAM, Ian - Oswestry, WALES
YOUNG, David - Scarborough, New York (cp)
(cp) designates PGA of America Professionals

Major Champions (8)
Mark Calcavecchia (British Open)
Hale Irwin (U.S. Open)
Tom Kite (U.S. Open)
Bernhard Langer (The Masters)
Mark O'Meara (The Masters, British Open)
Scott Simpson (US Open)
Jeff Sluman (PGA Championship)
Curtis Strange (U.S. Open)
Ian Woosnam (The Masters)

The Masters (3)
Bernhard Langer (1985, 1993)
Mark O'Meara (1998)
Ian Woosnam (1991)

U.S. Open (4)
Hale Irwin (1974, 1979, 1990)
Tom Kite (1992)
Scott Simpson (1987)
Curtis Strange (1988, 1989)

British Open (2)
Mark Calcavecchia (1989)
Mark O'Meara (1998)
PGA Championship (1)
Jeff Sluman (1988)

Senior PGA Championship (3)
Roger Chapman (2012)
Hale Irwin (1996, 1997, 1998, 2004)
Mike Reid (2005)

Ryder Cup Champions (2/3)
Tom Kite (1997)
Curtis Strange (2002)
Mark James (1999)
Bernhard Langer (2004)
Ian Woosnam (2006)

Hall of Fame Members (4)
Hale Irwin (1992)
Tom Kite (2004)
Bernhard Langer (2002)
Curtis Strange (2007)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment