St. Louis (KSDK) - Five out of the six educators selected as state finalists for the 2012 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are from the St. Louis area.

Ryun Deckert of River Bend Elementary in the Parkway C-2 School District, Laura Parn of Peine Ridge Elementary School in the Wentzville R-IV School District and Karen Yarde of Ft. Zumwalt West Middle School in the Ft. Zumwalt R-II School District are finalists in the mathematics category.

Lisa McPherson of Cold Water Elementary in the Hazelwood School District and Nancy McClintock of the Center for Creative Learning in the Rockwood R-VI School District are finalists in the science category, along with Regan Webb of Fairview Elementary School in the Columbia 93 School District.

The finalists in each category will be reviewed and one teacher in each will be selected.

President Barack Obama will then name up to 108 awardees nation-wide, which will be announced at a later date.

The winners of the award will received a certificate signed by President Obama, a trip to Washington, D.C., and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

Read or Share this story: http://www.ksdk.com/story/news/education/1/01/01/5-finalists-for-excellence-in-teaching-award-from-st-louis-area/3064207/