Kiawah Island, SC (Sports Network) - Rory McIlroy cruised to his second major title on Sunday when he won the PGA Championship in historic fashion at The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island.

McIlroy shot a 6-under 66 and won by eight strokes to establish a new tournament record for largest margin of victory. He eclipsed the great Jack Nicklaus, who won the PGA by seven shots in 1980.

McIlroy finished at 13-under 275.

The victory propelled McIlroy back to No. 1 in the world rankings.

David Lynn, an unheralded Englishman, shot a 68 on Sunday and finished second at minus-5.

Last year's winner Keegan Bradley (68), Justin Rose (66), Ian Poulter (69) and Carl Pettersson (72) tied for third at 4-under 284.

Tiger Woods didn't get anything going on Sunday. He shot an even-par 72 in the final round and tied for 11th at minus-2. Woods, who shared the second-round lead, failed to break par in all eight weekend rounds at this year's majors.


Read or Share this story: http://on.ksdk.com/JAgBqx