KIRKWOOD, Mo. (KSDK) - Kirkwood High School has been selected as a First Amendment Press Freedom Award winner for 2013.

Kirkwood is one of four schools to receive the national award which is co-sponsored by the Journalism Education Association, National scholastic Press Association, and Quill and Scroll Society.

The award recognizes public high schools that actively support and teach the first amendment rights of students and teachers.

Winners were selected after a review of surveys and editorial policies.

Kirkwood High School has earned the award nine times and will be honored April 25 at the spring National High School Journalism Convention in San Francisco.

The three other schools to receive the award are all from the St. Louis area, Francis Howell High School, Francis Howell North High School, and Lafayette High School.