SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) -- President Barack Obama has declared 11 counties in Illinois as disaster areas after last month's flooding.

Obama signed the disaster declaration on Friday, giving the counties access to federal aid for recovery efforts. Severe storms, flooding and winds hit Illinois in April. Obama's approval applies to Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will counties.

Gov. Pat Quinn requested the authorization earlier this week. The federal assistance will bolster state and local efforts. It could include grant money and loans to pay for repairs, property losses and temporary housing.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency is continuing damage surveys in Illinois and more assistance could be announced.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Read or Share this story: