WASHINGTON, D.C. (KSDK) - Several counties in Missouri will receive federal resources thanks to a disaster declaration by the U.S. Department of Agriculture due to the continuing drought.

"Folks in Missouri see the effects of this drought everywhere they look-from lost and damaged crops, to navigation challenges on our rivers," said Senator Claire McCaskill.

The designation will make farm operators eligible for emergency loans provided by the Farm Service Agency, with farmers given eight months to apply for the loans.

The disaster declaration applies to 31 counties that have suffered exceptional drought and 32 counties designated as contiguous disaster counties.

The counties designated at primary disaster areas include: Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Bates, Caldwell, Callaway, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Daviess, De Kalb, Dunklin, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Henry, Lafayette, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Nodaway, Pettis, Pike, Ralls, Ray, Warren, and Worth.

Counties designated as contiguous disaster areas include: Adair, Benton, Boone, Buchanan, Butler, Camden, Carroll, Cass, Chariton, Clay, Franklin, Gasconade, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Johnson, Macon, Marion, Mercer, Miller, New Madrid, Osage, Pemiscot, Platte, Randolph, St. Charles, St. Clair, Saline, Shelby, Stoddard, Sullivan, and Vernon.

Read or Share this story: