Tiger Woods said Monday it's time to move forward.
What the Golf Channel does next is another matter.
Woods, ranked No. 1 in the world, spoke publicly for the first time since Golf Channel analyst and SI Golf+ contributor Brandel Chamblee wrote a year-end column that appeared at Golf.com in which he gave Woods an "F" for his five-win season and insinuated that Woods cheated. Chamblee wrote that Woods was "a little cavalier with the rules," and punctuated his piece that appeared Oct. 15 with an incident in the fourth grade when his teacher crossed out "100" and gave him an "F" for cheating on a math test.
BRENNAN: Chamblee doesn't need to apologize
"All I am going to say is that I know I am going forward," Woods said in Haikou, China, before losing to Rory McIlroy in an 18-hole exhibition match at Mission Hills. "But then, I don't know what the Golf Channel is going to do or not. But then that's up to them. The whole issue has been very disappointing as he didn't really apologize and he sort of reignited the whole situation.
CHAMBLEE: Tweeted apology for the uproar
"So the ball really is in the court of the Golf Channel and what they are prepared to do."
Golf Channel spokesman David Schaefer told USA TODAY Sports that there is "no comment at this time" concerning Woods' comments. Golf Channel pointed out that Chamblee wrote his column for another publication.
Eamon Lynch, editor of Golf.com, maintains his support for Chamblee.
"We hired Brandel because he is one of the most incisive and engaging analysts in golf," Lynch told USA TODAY Sports. "We continue to value his insights and contributions."
In a statement to ESPN.com, Mark Steinberg, Woods' agent, said legal action could be taken against Chamblee.
"I'm all done talking about it and it's now in the hands of the Golf Channel," Steinberg told the Associated Press on Monday. "That's Tiger's view and that's mine, and all we want to do is move forward. And whether the Golf Channel moves forward as well, then we'll have to wait and see."
Woods was involved in four rules incidents this season. He was given a two-stroke penalty in Abu Dhabi for taking relief from an embedded ball in a sandy area, although playing partner Martin Kaymer said he could take relief. In the Masters, he was docked two strokes for taking an improper drop in the second round, a violation called in by one viewer. Woods was allowed to continue play despite signing for an incorrect scorecard.
At The Players in the final round, his drop on the 14th hole after he hit into a water hazard was brought into question, though playing partner Casey Wittenberg, who was asked by Woods where to drop the ball, said it was a proper drop. And at the BMW Championship, Woods was hit with a two-stroke penalty for moving his ball slightly in the woods behind the first hole in the second round. Woods said the ball just oscillated; and stuck with that version even after watching video of the incident.
Chamblee's column incited people across many fronts in the golf world. Chamblee, who said he was not asked to apologize by anyone, took to Twitter to apologize to Woods "for this incited discourse."
"What brought me here was the realization that my comments inflamed an audience on two sides of an issue," Chamblee wrote on Twitter. "Golf is a gentleman's game and I'm not proud of this debate."