ST. LOUIS (KSDK) – Four former Cardinals players will head into the first induction class of the St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame.

Jim Edmonds, Willie McGee, Mike Shannon and Marty Marion will be inducted Aug. 16. The Cardinals Hall of Fame inducted its inaugural class on Opening Day, April 7, with 22 Cardinals who have been enshrined in the National Baseball Hall of Fame or whose number has been retired.

The Cardinals Hall of Fame and Museum opened earlier this month.

McGee and Edmonds' selections received the most votes in the first-ever online Cardinals Hall of Fame ballot. Other nominees for the ballot included Bob Forsch, Keith Hernandez, Mark McGwire, Matt Morris, Ted Simmons and Joe Torre.

The induction ceremony will be a part of the 2014 Cardinals Hall of Fame Induction Weekend.

Read or Share this story: