Breaking News
More () »

County Council unanimously approves Page's 2 police commission nominees

St. Louis County Executive Sam Page nominated two new members to the board last week: Judge Ray Price and Michelle Schwerin. Tuesday, they were unanimously approved.

ST. LOUIS COUNTY, Mo. — The St. Louis County Board of Police Commissioners will have two new members.

Tuesday night, the two candidates nominated by St. Louis County Executive Sam Page were unanimously approved at the St. Louis County Council meeting.

On Friday, St. Louis County Executive Sam Page nominated two new members to the board: Judge Ray Price and Michelle Schwerin. 

Now that they've been approved, they will replace current board member Laurie Westfall and former chairman Roland Corvington, who resigned last week. They will take their new positions in the next few weeks.

Judge Price served the longest term of any judge in Missouri Supreme Court history and served two terms as chief justice. He also previously served on the Kansas City Board of Police Commissioners.

Schwerin is a lawyer and Certified Public Accountant. She specializes in civil tax examinations, appeals, litigation and criminal tax investigations. She’s also an adjunct professor at Webster University, where she teaches in the Master of Forensic Accounting program. Schwerin also serves on the St. Louis Jewish Community Center’s Board of Directors.

“These appointments are the beginning of a critical transition period,” County Executive Page said when nominating Price and Schwerin. “We will continue implementing serious and thoughtful changes in coming weeks.”

More local news:

RELATED: Woman with 3 young children in SUV carjacked before deadly crash in Soulard

RELATED: 'The Sound of Music' and 'Mary Poppins' headline The Muny's 2020 season

RELATED: Cardinals announce extensions for Shildt, Mozeliak, Girsch

Before You Leave, Check This Out