COLLINSVILLE, Ill. — Recreational marijuana is now legal in Illinois, but if you aren't already in line, you will need to wait another day to buy it in the Metro East.
The only recreational marijuana dispensary in the Metro East with an adult-use cannabis license is Illinois Supply & Provisions in Collinsville. For much of the day, the line stretched down the street and reported wait times were as long as five hours.
Because of the long wait times and a state law requiring dispensaries close by 9 p.m., the owners of Illinois Supply & Provisions started turning customers away a little after 4 p.m.
Customers could stick around after that 4 pm deadline, just without the guarantee they would have time to shop before 9 p.m.
The owners said they didn't want to have people wait in line for hours only to be turned away.
It wasn't quite Woodstock, but the music was jamming and everyone will probably say they were there, whether they actually were or not.
"We’re here to make a point that this is totally a normal thing that adults should be able to do," said customer Adam Magnus.
Like Black Friday shoppers, this "Green Wednesday" crowd gathered before sunrise.
When the clock struck seven -- jackpot!
"It's about time," said Robert Martin.
Those who didn't pack it in after 4:00 p.m. left with lighter wallets.
Martin told us he spent more than $300.
If you weren't able to get out to the dispensary for day one but still want the party-like atmosphere, you're in luck.
It reopens the rest of this week at 9 a.m., and the food trucks and DJ will remain out on site for the rest of the week.
For those wondering what the new law entails or how to purchase recreational marijuana, here are your questions answered:
Legally smoking recreational marijuana in Illinois
1. Who can smoke it recreational marijuana on Jan. 1?
- You must be 21 or older, the same age for smoking tobacco and drinking alcohol in Illinois
2. Where can you use recreational marijuana?
- Not in public
- Not while driving
- You may be able to smoke inside a dispensary depending on the local municipality's rules
- Make sure to check with your local municipality for rules regarding public cannabis consumption.
3. Can your employer or landlord keep you from smoking?
- Yes, your employer can still legally drug test you and possibly fire you for marijuana use
- Landlords also can disallow you from owning or using marijuana on their property
4. Can you take it over state lines?
- Missouri's and other state's laws regarding marijuana apply once you cross state lines, and you will be subject to the rules of the municipality you are in.
- In February of 2018, St. Louis city decriminalized marijuana possession; the fine for getting caught with less than 35 grams was reduced to a maximum fine of $25.
- St. Louis County announced in January that it would no longer prosecute for possession of less than 100 grams of marijuana.
- In some Missouri municipalities, you could face heavy fines or even jail time for marijuana possession.
5. How much can you legally possess?
- If you live in Illinois, you can legally have 30 grams of cannabis flower, 500 milligrams of THC and 5 grams of cannabis concentrate
- If you live out of state you can legally have half of those amounts (within Illinois): 15 grams of cannabis flower, 250 milligrams of THC and 2.5 grams of cannabis concentrate
Buying marijuana in Illinois
- When will the Collinsville dispensary be open?
- 1014 Eastport Plaza Dr, Collinsville, IL, 62234
- January 1, 2020, 7 a.m. - 9 p.m.
- January 2 begins regular hours:
- Monday-Saturday, 9 a.m. – 9 p.m.
- Sunday, 10 a.m. -9 p.m.
- Where do I park?
- Parking lot, front or back of the building
- Double Tree – spaces nearest the dispensary are reserved for our customers
- There will be traffic enforcement Jan. 1 – 4
- Will there be any special check-in requirements?
- No special check-in requirements except a valid ID proving that the person is 21 to purchase products.
- Customers will line up outside the dispensary and taken in order.
- Medical patients will move to the front of the line
- What should I bring with me?
- Anyone 21 years or older must have a valid government-issued ID to purchase products
- Can I make an appointment?
- No appointments will be taken. Access to the dispensary will be on a first come first serve basis.
- How long should I expect to stay?
- You should expect long lines for the first several days starting on Jan. 1. Please dress accordingly for the weather.
- How can I pay?
- Cash or Debit card are acceptable payment methods. No checks or Credit cards will be accepted
- What should I do with product when I leave the dispensary?
- If cannabis is in a car, it must be “in a reasonably secured, sealed container and reasonably inaccessible while the vehicle is moving.” It's recommended people transport their cannabis products in the trunk of their vehicle, and keep it in the sealed container that it was purchased.
- How much does it cost?
- Prices will flux based on demand.
- It’s generally around $55-$65 for an eighth (3.5 grams) for both flower/concentrates
- The average customer will likely spend about $180-$200 per visit
12. What's the tax rate?
- 10% for marijuana with 35% or lower THC
- 25% for marijuana with above 35% THC, will be taxed at 25%
- 20% of purchase price for cannabis-infused products