Here we go again, there's another Facebook message scam going around.

Seen this message recently?

"Hi....I actually got another friend request from you yesterday...which I ignored so you may want to check your account. Hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears...then hit forward and all the people you want to forward too....I had to do the people individually. Good Luck!"

More News

Next Story

Not Available

Just For You

Not Available

Trending

Not Available

UPDATE on 11/30/2018

Viewers have reported a very similar, newer version of this same post going around.

It has a different ending line of "PLEASE DO NOT ACCEPT A NEW friendship FROM ME AT THIS TIME."

NEWFACEBOOKPOST_1543608526352.jpg

Facebook experts say both claims should be treated the same way.

THE QUESTION

Is this message real? Has my account been duped or cloned and is someone sending invites to my friends, pretending to be me?

THE ANSWER

No, while there have been real reported cases of Facebook accounts being cloned, this message is not a real example of one.

vlcsnap-2018-10-08-17h08m49s047_1539033012842.png

The only reason people are sharing it is because the post encourages them to do so, but that unfortunately has given a number of unaffected people reason to be worried about their accounts.

WHAT WE FOUND

Facebook is aware of this message. On a help center page, they told a user that "the notification you saw is likely a scam."

When VERIFY reached out to Facebook, they acknowledged that "some people are seeing posts or messages about accounts being cloned on Facebook. It takes the form of a 'chain mail' type of notice."

According to Facebook's community standards, claiming to be another person on their site violates their policies.

They encouraged users who are concerned about impersonating accounts to use their reporting tools available at https://www.facebook.com/help/fakeaccount

vlcsnap-2018-10-08-17h09m09s764_1539033012919.png

YOU COULD BE PART OF THE PROBLEM

The second part of the message encourages those reading it to share it with their friends. Please DON'T DO THAT!

By sharing this message, you're unintentionally adding more people into the pool who are worried about their accounts with no reason.

Tech Security Expert Burton Kelso explained that the best way to avoid being duped by this scam is to ignore it and delete it:

WHAT CAN YOU DO

1. Stop sharing this message. If you do actually receive an invite from someone already on your friends list, send them an individual message.

2. If you get this message and are still worried you can always search your own name on Facebook to verify that there aren't any clones of your account out there.

Help VERIFY

Help our journalists VERIFY the news. Do you know someone else we should interview for this story? Did we miss anything in our reporting? Is there another story you'd like us to VERIFY? Click here.