Breaking News
More () »

Mike Shannon named finalist for Hall of Fame's Ford C. Frick Award

Get up baby, get up, get up... Mike Shannon could be headed to Cooperstown.

ST. LOUIS — Cardinals broadcaster Mike Shannon is on Cooperstown's doorstep.

The longtime St. Louis broadcaster has been named a finalist for the 2020 Ford C. Frick Award for excellence in baseball broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

Shannon was nominated along with Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Tom Hamilton, Ken "Hawk" Harrelson, Pat Hughes, Ned Martin and Dewayne Staats, who grew up in Wood River, Illinois and attended SIUE.

To be considered for the Ford C. Frick award, and active or retired broadcaster must have a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network or a combination of the two.

Mike Shannon is a St. Louis native, who attended CBC High School and the University of Missouri.

Shannon left college early after he was signed by his hometown St. Louis Cardinals and played for the team from 1962 to 1970, winning two World Series titles.

Since 1972, Shannon has broadcasted Cardinals baseball and was inducted into the Cardinals Hall of Fame in 2014.

Other notable broadcasters with St. Louis ties to receive the Ford C. Frick Award include Bob Costas, Tim McCarver, Bob Uecker, Joe Garagiola, Harry Caray and Jack Buck.

The winner of the 2020 Ford C. Frick Award will be announced on December 11 at baseball's winter meetings.

RELATED: Mike Shannon and St. Louis: A perfect match

RELATED: Mike Shannon's brush with death

RELATED: St. Louis legend Mike Shannon turns 80 years old

RELATED: Baseball Legend Mike Shannon Talks Hearing Loss and how Midwest Beltone Helped

RELATED: Happy birthday, Mike Shannon: The man in black at Busch Stadium

Before You Leave, Check This Out