Breaking News
More () »

Ryan O'Reilly wins Selke Trophy as NHL's best defensive forward

It looks like Ryan O'Reilly might need to build a bigger trophy room!
Credit: AP
St. Louis Blues center Ryan O'Reilly carries the Stanley Cup during the NHL hockey Stanley Cup victory celebration, Saturday, June 15, 2019, in St. Louis. (AP Photo/Scott Kane)

ST. LOUIS — Ryan O'Reilly continues to pile up the hardware in his first season with the Blues.

After winning the Stanley Cup and the Conn Smythe Trophy as the top performer of the playoffs, he picked up the Selke Trophy at Wednesday night's NHL awards.

The Selke Trophy goes to the best defensive forward. O'Reilly is the second Blues player to win the award. Rick Meagher won the award in 1990.

O'Reilly was also nominated for the Lady Byng Trophy for the player "that displays gentlemanly conduct on the ice," but lost out to Aleksander Barkov.

Jordan Binnington was nominated for the Calder Trophy, the leagues rookie of the year award, but finished second to Vancouver's Elias Pettersson.

Head Coach Craig Berube finished third in voting for the Jack Adams award for the best coach and General Manager Doug Armstrong was the runner up in General Manager of the Year voting.

RELATED: Macy's celebrates St. Louis Blues Stanley Cup Championship

RELATED: The St. Louis Blues are now completely locally owned

RELATED: Opinion | Grading the 2018-19 Stanley Cup Champion St. Louis Blues

RELATED: Stanley Cup Champion St. Louis Blues preseason schedule released

RELATED: Relive the Blues' historic Stanley Cup win in our Sports Plus Podcast

Before You Leave, Check This Out