Breaking News
More () »

Six Cardinals named finalists for Rawlings Gold Gloves

Defense was a huge part of the Cardinals' success in 2019. Now, they're getting recognized in a big way, with six Gold Glove finalists, the most of any team.

ST. LOUIS — Mike Shildt and the Cardinals put a huge emphasis on defense heading into the 2019 season and it paid off big time.

The Cardinals had the fewest errors and highest fielding percentage of any team in baseball in 2019.

Now, some individual members of that defensively exceptional team are getting some recognition.

The Cardinals have six finalists for the Rawlings Gold Glove Award.

Paul Goldschmidt is up for his fourth Gold Glove. "Goldy" was tied for the lead among all National League first basemen in fielding percentage.

Arizona's Christian Walker and Chicago's Anthony Rizzo are also finalists at first base.

Kolten Wong is looking to finally take home his first Gold Glove in 2019 at second base. Wong is one of the most analytically celebrated fielders in all of baseball.

He'll be up against Atlanta's Ozzie Albies and Pittsburgh's Adam Frazier.

Paul DeJong is one of the steadiest shortstops in baseball. Now's he's up for his first Gold Glove. DeJong led all shortstops in fielding percentage in 2019.

Arizona's Nick Ahmed and Colorado's Trevor Story are finalists with DeJong.

Harrison Bader might have been bumped from the Cardinals' starting lineup throughout the 2019 season for his slumping offense, but his defense never took a day off. Now he's up for the Gold Glove in center field.

Bader led all center fielders with a 12.9 UZR, meaning his range was second to none.

Bader is up against Washington's Victor Robles and Milwaukee's Lorenzo Cain.

Yadier Molina is no stranger to Gold Glove nominations. He won eight in a row from 2009-2016. He won last season, too, and if he wins again this year, his ten Gold gloves will tie him with Johnny Bench for second most all-time after Ivan Rodriguez.

Philadelphia's J.T. Realmuto and San Diego's Austin Hedges are Molina's competition for the award.

Jack Flaherty turned heads with his outstanding second half on the mound, but now he's getting some love for his steady glove.

He'll have to beat Gold Glove standard Zack Greinke, who even though he was traded to the Astros at the deadline, is up for the award as an Arizona Diamondback. Philadelphia's Aaron Nola was also named a finalist.

The last Cardinal not named Yadier Molina to win a Gold Glove was Adam Wainwright in 2013.

The winners will be announced on November 3 on ESPN.

RELATED: Chicago Cubs hire David Ross to replace Maddon as manager

RELATED: Stephen Piscotty to sell his St. Louis area home soon

RELATED: St. Louis among one of the best cities for baseball fans

RELATED: Laila Anderson to receive the Musial Award for extraordinary character

RELATED: Spend a night with Whitey Herzog and his Cardinals next month

RELATED: Opinion | Are the St. Louis Cardinals losing touch with their fan base?

Before You Leave, Check This Out