SPRINGFIELD, Ill. — More and more states are getting rid of Daylight Saving Time, and Illinois could be next.

The Illinois Senate passed Senate Bill 533 on Tuesday, 44-2.

The bill would make Daylight Saving Time the year-round standard time of the entire state starting on the second Sunday of March 2020.

State Sen. Andy Manar (D-Bunker Hill) introduced the bill back in May.

If the bill receives full approval, Illinois would be the third US state to make Daylight Saving Time permanent.

Arizona and Hawaii are currently the only states who do not observe the time change.


 Poll: Most Americans dislike twice-a-year time flops

 Science Says: How daylight saving time affects health

 5 ways life would be better if it were always daylight saving time