JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. — Governor Mike Parson is hoping to get 21 more counties added to the Federal Emergency Management Agency's disaster declaration.

Last week, Trump approved federal assistance for 20 Missouri counties hit by severe weather since April 29, but Missouri had asked for help in 41 counties.

RELATED: President Trump approves 2nd disaster declaration for Missouri

“Expanding the disaster declaration is warranted due to the extent of the damage across these additional counties and the high cost of repairs,” Parson said in a press release.

On Tuesday, the State Emergency Management Agency requested that FEMA consider extending President Trump’s July 9 Individual Assistance disaster declaration for Missouri. The request was for 21 additional counties including Jefferson, St. Louis and Ste. Genevieve counties.

SEMA also requested assistance to public agencies in 68 counties to help with repairs to infrastructure.

Last weeks disaster declaration made federal individual assistance available to eligible residents in Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Cole, Greene, Holt, Jackson, Jasper, Lafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Miller, Osage, Pike, Platte, Pulaski, and St. Charles counties.

To register for FEMA assistance, go to or call 800-621-FEMA (3362) any time from 7 a.m. - 10 p.m.

More flooding coverage:

RELATED: Downtown St. Louis is priority as flood cleanup continues to move downriver

RELATED: FEMA helping flood victims in Missouri

RELATED: "We fought it. We won" | Hardin businesses reopen as floodwaters recede

RELATED: President Trump approves 2nd disaster declaration for Missouri