Breaking News
More () »

Election results for hot races in the St. Louis area

Here are results in the top races including St. Louis, St. Louis County, St. Charles County and Jefferson County.

ST. LOUIS — St. Louis area voters headed to the polls Tuesday for the Missouri Primary Election.

On the federal level, voters were choosing between candidates running for U.S. Congress and Senate. You can find more information about those races here.

On the local level, voters in St. Louis, St. Charles and Jefferson counties were making their selections for county executive candidates, city voters were deciding on two propositions and voters in the city's 21st Ward were picking who would serve out the rest of former Alderman John Collins-Muhammad's term.

Here's a breakdown of all the hot local races.

Tap here for the full primary results.

St. Louis County Executive

County Executive Sam Page declared victory in a speech Tuesday night after holding a significant lead throughout most of the night over challenger Jane Dueker in the Democratic party for county executive. He will face Republican Katherine Pinner in the general election.

Page led by a wide margin throughout the night and finished with 63% of the vote to Dueker’s 36%.

Pinner, a local Republican activist, defeated State Representative Shamed Dogan with 56% of the vote to Dogan’s 44%.

The primary election for St. Louis County Executive was framed as a referendum on the incumbent, Page, who came to power in the wake of a federal corruption scandal that felled his predecessor Steve Stenger. Now, federal agents are once again poking around county government offices, and have already brought criminal corruption charges against one of Page’s closest political aides.

Page entered the primary with both the benefits and the baggage of the incumbency. After a term that included a brutal pandemic and a rise in crime, his Democratic challenger Jane Dueker has unleashed a string of criticism attacking Page’s judgment, transparency, and leadership style. Page has defended his term in office, and has bristled at Dueker’s criticism. He has refused to debate her, opting instead to run a more careful campaign.


Tap here for the full primary results.

St. Charles County Executive


Steve Ehlmann won the Republican nomination for the St. Charles County Executive with 100% of the precincts reporting at around 9:35 p.m. 

Incumbent Steve Ehlmann has served as county executive since 2007. He is currently serving his fourth term in the office. 

Tap here for the full primary results.

Jefferson County Executive


Dennis Gannon won the Republican nomination for Jefferson County Executive with 98% of the precincts reporting at around 9:40 p.m.

Incumbent Dennis Gannon was facing term-limited State Senator Paul Wieland in the Republican primary. 

Gannon is seeking a second term after taking office in 2019.

Gannon will face Democrat Fran Newkirk in the general election. Newkirk is running unopposed in the primary.


Tap here for the full primary results.

St. Louis

Proposition S

The proposition would allow the St. Louis Board of Education to borrow $160 million to fund a wide range of repairs and renovations in the Saint Louis Public School District, including security system upgrades, lead removal and ADA improvements. It would not change tax rates.

In initial project allocations for the funding's use, a large portion of potential spending would go to HVAC upgrades, restroom renovations and "building envelope" work such as hazardous material abatement, waterproofing, and roof and window replacements.

Prop S passed with 87% of the vote Tuesday night.

Tap here for the full primary results.

Proposition F

A yes vote would support increasing the maximum fine from $500 to $1000 for violations of city environmental ordinances, such as illegal dumping.

Proposition F passed with 85% of the vote Tuesday night. 

Tap here for the full primary results.

Ward 21 Alderman

Laura Keys was declared winner of the Ward 21 Alderman with 100% of the precincts reporting at 10:05 p.m.

Aug. 2, 2022, is also the date of the Ward 21 Aldermanic vacancy special election. In addition to a primary ballot, voters in Ward 21 decided who will fill the remainder of former alderman John Collins-Muhammad's term, which expires in April 2023.

Collins Muhammad resigned in May after he was federally indicted in a pay-to-play scheme along with then-Board President Lewis Reed and Alderman Jeffrey Boyd.

Tap here for the full primary results.

Credit: KSDK

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out