Breaking News
More () »

Ryan O'Reilly named finalist for 2019-2020 Lady Byng Trophy

The award goes to the player who exhibits some of the best sportsmanship in the league

ST. LOUIS — Blues forward Ryan O'Reilly may have to make some room in his rapidly expanding trophy case. On Thursday, O'Reilly was named a finalist for the NHL's 2019-2020 Lady Byng Trophy.

The Lady Byng Trophy is annually awarded to the player "adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high statement of playing ability."

Colorado forward Nathan McKinnon and Toronto forward Auston Matthews were also named finalists along with O'Reilly.

This year O'Reilly helped the Blues to the best record in the Western Conference at the time the season was stopped and led the NHL in face-off wins and face-offs taken. O'Reilly only had five minor penalties all season, the sixth time in his career he had totaled 10 or fewer penalty minutes in a season.

Watch: Ryan O'Reilly talks about Lady Byng Trophy nomination

This is the third straight year O'Reilly has been a finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy. He won the award in 2014 while with the Colorado Avalanche.

If he wins this year, he'll join Phill Goyette (1969-1970), Brett Hull (1989-1990) and Pavol Demitra (1999-2000) as Blues to win the award.

The winner will be named during the conference finals.

More Blues Coverage

RELATED: Familiarity should bode well for Blues in Return to Play Plan

RELATED: Blues are all-in on trying to repeat

RELATED: Blues to face Blackhawks in exhibition game before playoffs begin

RELATED: 'The goal is to get something done': Alex Pietrangelo wants to re-sign with the Blues after the season

RELATED: Blues return to the ice to prep for NHL restart

RELATED: Blues set to return to ice in 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs on Aug. 2

RELATED: Report: Blues cancel practices after multiple positive COVID-19 tests

RELATED: St. Louis Blues launch hockey program for injured, disabled Military vets

Before You Leave, Check This Out