Breaking News
More () »

St. Louis Breaking News, Weather, Traffic, Sports | KSDK.com

St. Charles County police seek suspect who took mayoral campaign signs in Cottleville

Suspect believed to have been driving a black SUV and swiping signs of same candidate from multiple locations
Credit: St. Charles County Police Department
Surveillance photos from alleged theft of a campaign sign

ST. CHARLES COUNTY, Mo. — Police are looking for the man who stole a campaign sign from the front yard of a man running for Cottleville Mayor.

An unknown subject driving a black SUV stole the campaign yard sign around 6 a.m. Friday from the 5000 block of Highway N, according to the St. Charles County Police Department.

The subject may have been in a GMC Yukon or Chevrolet Tahoe, police said.

Officers suspect the same subject is responsible for stealing campaign signs for the same candidate from the 5200 block of Highway N, the 5300 block of 5th Street and other locations in Cottleville.

Stan Enloe and Bob Ronkoski are the candidates for mayor in Cottleville.

Anyone with information is asked to call Det. Anderson at 636-949-3000, extension 2523, or the tip line at 636-949-3002.

The April 6, 2021, municipal election will bring several changes to St. Louis area communities for years to come. There are more than 200 races and issues 5 On Your Side is following Tuesday in Missouri and Illinois.

Follow the latest election results in real-time Tuesday night at ksdk.com/elections. You can also text RESULTS to 314-444-5125 to see the latest developments.

Polls in Missouri and Illinois opened at 6 a.m. and closed at 7 p.m.

Cottleville is one of more than two dozen cities electing new mayors, including the city of St. Louis.

St. Louis mayoral race

City of St. Louis residents will choose a new mayor between Tishaura Jones and Cara Spencer. It will be the first mayoral election under the city’s newly approved voting rules, which allowed residents to vote for as many candidates as they wanted in the March 2 primary. Jones and Spencer — both Democrats — were the top two vote-getters.

Watch the final mayoral debate between Spencer and Jones in the YouTube video below.